## **Governance Organizations**

Faculty, Staff, and Student

**FACULTY SENATE:** Jon Perkins, President Robert Wallace, Secretary

Sarah Bennett-George, President-Elect

The Faculty Senate represents the general faculty of Iowa State University and participates in shared governance of the University with the administration. It is comprised of approximately 80 representatives elected by the general faculty, and divided into caucuses representing each of the seven colleges. The Faculty Senate has legislative responsibility for general academic and educational policy, serving to facilitate communication among faculty, students, and administration. It also cooperates with the administration in conflict resolution, and advises the administration on budgetary and other policy matters.

The Faculty Senate conducts its business through a system of five councils (Academic Affairs, Faculty Development and Administrative Relations, Faculty Governance, Judiciary and Appeals, and Resource Policies and Allocations) and their committees. The Executive Board of the Faculty Senate consists of the chairs of the five councils, the chairs of the seven college caucuses, and the officers. The Faculty Senate was established in 1988.

Home Website: https://www-facsen.sws.iastate.edu/

PROFESSIONAL AND
Jamie Sass, President
Lynne Campbell, Secretary/Treasurer
SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL:
Patrick Wall. President-Elect

The Iowa State University Professional and Scientific Council is an elected university body that serves as a resource and advocate for Professional and Scientific employees. The Professional and Scientific Council identifies the needs of its constituents, provides information and advice in response to those needs, recommends policies and procedures to the University administration that benefit Professional and Scientific employees, and assists in fulfilling the mission of Iowa State University. The Council consists of approximately 45 members, including seven officers, elected from Academic Affairs, Operations and Finance, the President's Office, and Student Affairs (or one representative for every 75 P&S employees).

Home Website: https://www.pscouncil.iastate.edu/

**STUDENT GOVERNMENT:** Jacob Ludwig, President Edward Mahoney, Speaker of the Senate

Jaden Alrichs, Vice President
Emily Roberts, Chief of Staff

Andrew Brueck, Vice Speaker
Kit Clayburn, Finance Director

Student Government (SG), an elected body, actively represents all students to the university administration, and local, state, and federal governments. The SG has sole discretion over the allocation of the student activity fee to student organizations and initiatives. The mission of SG is to serve students and improve the student experience through advocacy and empowerment.

Home Website: https://www.stugov.iastate.edu/

**GRADUATE AND** Christine Cain, President Kimia Noroozi, Wellness Officer **PROFESSIONAL STUDENT** Caitlyn Campbell, Vice President Ryan Everett, Conference Officer

**SENATE:** Kevin Chiteri, Treasurer

Garrison Gunter, Senate Information Officer

Efrain Rodriguez-Ocasio, Senate Engagement Officer

The Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS), founded in 1970, is an elected body of graduate and professional students. The GPSS addresses issues related to graduate and professional students, develops and disseminates ideas for improvement of graduate/professional education and provides graduate/professional student representation on university committees. The GPSS also allocates funds to graduate/professional student groups, professional advancement grants, and hosts several events such as Graduate Orientation, Graduate and Professional Student Research conference, and semester socials.

Home Website: http://www.gpss.iastate.edu/

Office of Institutional Research (Source: Organization Administration) Last Updated: 9/14/2022