Governance Organizations

Faculty, Staff, and Student

FACULTY SENATE: Jonathan Sturm, President Annmarie Butler, Secretary

Carol Faber, President-Elect

he Faculty Senate represents the general faculty of Iowa State University and participates in shared governance of the ▲ University with the administration. As the representative of the General Faculty, the Faculty Senate has legislative responsibility for educational policies and procedures of the university, including admission and graduation requirements, curriculum and course revisions, new degree programs, and grading procedures. It also recommends candidates for diplomas, degrees, and certificates to be conferred by the president. As its part in shared governance, the Senate plays an advisory role in other university matters and facilitates communication and conflict resolution within the university community. Each department elects one senator as its representative, and at-large senators are elected by each college, for a total of 79 faculty senators plus four officers.

Home Website: http://www.facsen.iastate.edu/

PROFESSIONAL AND SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL:

Amy Ward, President Sara Parris, President-Elect

Joy Stroud, Secretary/Treasurer

The Iowa State University Professional and Scientific Council is an elected university body that serves as a resource and advocate for Professional and Scientific employees. The Professional and Scientific Council identifies the needs of its constituents, provides information and advice in response to those needs, recommends policies and procedures to the University administration that benefit Professional and Scientific employees, and assists in fulfilling the mission of Iowa State University. The Council consists of approximately 40 members, including seven officers, elected from Academic Affairs, Business and Finance, the President's Office, and Student Affairs (or 1 representative for every 75 P&S employees).

Home Website: https://www.pscouncil.iastate.edu/

STUDENT GOVERNMENT: Austin Graber, President

Vishesh Bhatia, Vice President Chase Kusel. Chief of Staff

Kelsey Culbertson, Speaker of the Senate

Jacob Schrader, Vice Speaker Madison Mueller, Finance Director

C tudent Government (SG), an elected body, actively represents all students to the university administration, and local, state, and federal governments. The SG has sole discretion over the allocation of the student activity fee to student organizations and initiatives. The mission of SG is to serve students and improve the student experience through advocacy and empowerment.

Home Website: https://www.stugov.iastate.edu/

GRADUATE AND PROFESSIONAL STUDENT James Klimavicz, Vice President **SENATE:**

Eleanor Field, President Rui (Michael) Ding, Treasurer Qi Mu, Professional Advancement Grants Chair Abigail Kropf, Research Conference Chair

Ozlem Karakaya, Chief Information Officer

Marcus Jansen, University Relations Legislative Affairs Chair

The Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS) is an elected body of graduate and professional students. The GPSS addresses issues related to graduate and professional students, develops and disseminates ideas for improvement of graduate/professional education and provides graduate/professional student representation on university committees. The GPSS also allocates funds to graduate/professional student groups, professional advancement grants, and hosts several events such as Graduate Orientation, Graduate and Professional Student Research conference, and semester socials.

Home Website: http://www.gpss.iastate.edu/

Office of Institutional Research (Source: Organization Administration)

Last Updated: 9/29/2019